The Ebony Prize




Ebony Music, Inc. sponsored The 2023 Ebony Prize.

A monetary prize will be presented for the best piano performance for a piece by a Black composer at the national level for the Junior, Senior, and Young Artist Division of the Music Teachers National Association (MTNA).

The Junior Division, Senior Division, and Young Artist Division award recipients received $500.00, $750.00, and $1,000.00, respectively.

 Junior Division Winner

Christina Sung

Piece: Summer Moon by Florence Price

Senior Division Winner

Jonathan Zheng

Piece: Summerland by William Grant Still

Young Artist Division Winner

Lewis Warren Jr

Piece: Etude No. 2 by Anthony Greene

You cannot copy content of Ebony Music's page